[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [OM] WARNING -- e*ay scam message - see below...

Subject: Re: [OM] WARNING -- e*ay scam message - see below...
From: "John A. Lind" <jlind@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Date: Thu, 24 Oct 2002 01:18:18 -0500
I agree . . . it has all the trappings of a hoax to harvest accounts and their log-in passwords.

The site address (ww16.brinkster.com) translates to an IP address of which is part of a block ( - assigned to Brinkster, Inc. Brinkster's upstream provider is HiSpeed Hosting (has a much larger IP block, -, that includes Brinkster's) and is also known as (or is part of) "datapipe.com" or "datapip.net" which sounds a lot like a DSL or similar provider.

The more I dug, the more suspicious I got. You have a good radar system. The first tell-tale is what looks to be a URL for one site when it's "href" in the HTML is actually a completely different URL.

BTW, "www.ebay.com" has an IP address of in a completely different block, assigned to "exodus.net" which is part of Cable & Wireless (cw.net).

-- John

< This message was delivered via the Olympus Mailing List >
< For questions, mailto:owner-olympus@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx >
< Web Page: http://Zuiko.sls.bc.ca/swright/olympuslist.html >

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
Sponsored by Tako
Impressum | Datenschutz